I was at Angelika, this artsy film theater in Soho waiting for my semi-political movie, Persepolis, to begin. By now I'm used to seeing ads before movies, but at this particular theater they usually show granola-ish commercials instead of your typical Fandango jumpoff.
That's when I first saw the new 90 second Louis Vuitton commercial. Let me tell you that after this commercial ran, the whole audience began cracking up out of incredulity. As an avid fan of Louis, I gotta say I was dissapointed the commercial is on some ol' cultural montage 'the journey of life begins with a single step' bullshit. What is this, a Lexus commerical from '98? Really though. If I see one more commercial with some white bitch looking wide eyed through the window of the back seat of a car I'm going to scream. (No offense to whites, I actually love you guys and dyed my hair blonde to join your ranks. One love.)
But seriously? We don't need to see white people world traveling through peasant India, talking about LV bags and other madness. This reminds me of the racist advertising in the earlier part of the century. I'm sure you've seen those ads of the white people flying over Cuba, or paintings encouraging Europeans to visit colonialist Africa. Oh the shame. As a rocker of Vuitton, I'm turned off by this blatant promenading of difference of the haves and the have-nots. How dare you remind me of my privelege. Shame on you for making me feel guilty! Your job as advertisers is to make me want more more more! Now I want to hide my LV goods under the mattress (where I keep my stacks and yay).
Oh boy. Here are some screen shots I took of the commercial, available on Youtube for further research. And while you're at it peep the hip hop Phantom of the Opera Vuitton ad your boy Pharrell put together for their jewelery line. Like I've always said, the richer you get the more eccentric you become. Not a critique necessarily, just an observation.
What gets me the most is the corny script that appears throughout the commercial. It reads:
What is a Journey? A journey is not a trip. It's not a vacation. It's a process. A discovery. It's a process....of self discovery. (Shit is deep. now...cue mysterious Andalusian ambient music) A journey brings us face to face...with ourselves. (Droppin bombs on us right here) A journey shows us not only the world, but how we fit in it. Does the person create the journey, or the journey create the person? (Dammn...will we ever know though??) The journey is life itself. Where will life take you? (To the LV store, if I'm lucky.)







4 comments:
You hate it, but your commentaries are so Berk.
In any case, this is a prime example of advertising making no fucking sense. Really, I don't get it. This is why they say advertisers do what they call "creative masterbation", doing super artsy shit so they can blow a load and please themselves.
They need to go throwback to old commercials that straight up said "Hey, our produce is pretty awesome, you should buy it!". You know, those cigarette ads from the 50s.
All this commercial makes me want to do is go to Goyard and get traveling trunks for my gold dior shoes, then fly my ass to the bay area and walk around wide eyed.
My fashion posts sound Berkeley?
Well this is what happens when you move to Manhattan to become a fashion designer, but you were raised listening to Malcolm X speeches in ethnic studies class. Confusion, its all confusion.
and taught by militant lesbo ex black panther turned public school yard attendant.
'global humanity' is the next shit to pop though. that shit is hot! ....
why does
the militant always
have to be
a lesbo?
just cause
a woman has a strong
opinion?
and speaks loudly?
she is a
les-bian ?
(read in spoken word)
Post a Comment